Looks Familiar – A Little Too Familiar?

FANTASTIC UPDATE:

See comments section below – The HorseMania Artist Responds!

Original Post

You be the judge……
I submitted a design proposal for one of the fiberglass horses to be featured around Lexington during the WEG. It was based on the paint job I did for my mini horse’s trailer. Here, look:

Moments ago I logged into the media section of the Alltech site (them being the main sponsor of the WEG) and discovered a photo of their own official Alltech Horse Mania horse stationed in their main venue presentation apparently. I’m asking you, does it remind you at all of anything else you just saw? Yeah, me too.

 

This photo was submitted with my design proposal...

 

 

  • Black background? Check.
  • Bright roundy multi-color flowers? Check.
  • Bright green leafy stems? Check.

 

The Official Alltech Art Horse

 

I think I know where they drew their inspiration from for this. Here’s the thing: Alltech is headquartered in my own town of Nicholasville, Kentucky. My car and trailer drive around town with some regularity. I’m about as local of an artist as you could hope! They’ve laid out millions of dollars for this crazy extravaganza – why ever would they scrimp on this good-will cultural icon? And what makes whoever authorized this think I wouldn’t find out? If this is a coincidence then it’s a nutty one. If it’s called “The Garden of Hope” they owe me an apology.

2 Responses to “Looks Familiar – A Little Too Familiar?”

  1. Hi, i noted your blog here regarding my horse ‘Ferdinand the Horse’. i actually created the design for this horse in 2002 for Louisville’s Gallopalooza Tabletop Derby. That horse (run for the posies) was painted and auctioned. Further, i took the same design and produced it for the WEG this year. I have produced many juried public art projects over the years and these are submitted with resume’s, portfolios and design concepts. i would respectfully request you remove your blog insinuating i stole your design.

    • What an interesting outcome indeed. My first reaction was to remove the post as though this situation had never occurred but instead I want to leave it in as an illustration of how such misunderstandings arise and what professional creatives do to handle them.
      I have no reason to doubt this person’s claims and I have purposefully never made an effort to find out who this is/was. I never blamed the artist – I was scrutinizing the design selection process to be sure.
      That said – there are times when the zeitgeist — a synchronicity if you will — allows multiple artists to access a similar creative flow. I think that could be what happened here. Oblivious to each others work this HorseMania artist and I found a similar solution using the same pallet and similar designs. Similar — not same.

      What is striking is that we both submitted design proposals that must have looked fairly much the same to the selection teams. Not knowing that was going to be a factor – I assumed the worst; that my design had been selected and handed over to someone else to do.
      I see now this is probably not the case at all.
      A development I love by the way.
      In fact this artist and I probably have much in common!
      I am hoping he or she agrees with me that illuminating this situation is a better choice than pretending it didn’t occur.
      Sometimes coincidences occur!

      I am certainly willing to go along with that’s what happened here.
      Indeed it looks like I was mistaken about what happened and apologize for the ‘insinuation’. If this is true, and why wouldn’t it be, then I stand corrected. Publicly.

      Final Thought:
      If you are this HorseMania artist and wish for an even more satisfactory outcome than just what I wrote above – connect with me and let me do a blog post about your work! I think it is a crazy way to meet someone and for this reason alone I think it’s a connection that should be celebrated!

Leave a Reply

