A Fiji Horse Story

Manasa and I prepare for a long ride

In the late 1980’s I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Fiji, in the South Pacific. I worked as a graphic artist for the Ministry of Health. Below are pages from the cartoon book I drew and the World Health Organization produced for the citizens of Fiji during my first year there. It was 100 pages of original cartoons called “Worms and Germs”. I ended up moving from the capitol city to a tiny village up in the hills where I lived among islanders and broke some of their rules by riding horses and wearing pants. I believe my lifelong love of horses will reveal itself.

One Response to “A Fiji Horse Story”

  1. Sally Cruikshank Says:

    Great story, and such a beautiful picture of you also.

Leave a Reply

