College Day Pageantry at Keeneland

That we ride horses has more to do with their kindness than man’s accomplishments.
Merry Horses

A chestnut Foal heads to Keeneland (painting avail on Etsy - click!)

A chestnut Foal heads to Keeneland (painting avail on Etsy - click!)

Fall in Kentucky can be an achingly beautiful time. Pair that with observing horses prancing under colorful silk outfits and maybe heaven seems less other-worldly. Last week I had the pleasure to bring two young ladies to Keeneland for their first experience ever with horse racing in general and the gifts of Keeneland in particular.

It was “College Day” and this being the ‘northernmost southern city’ there were well groomed University of Kentucky students wandering everywhere. My pair fit right in. They were delighted with the pageantry of the paddock and the thrill out on the track. It was a joy to experience afresh the wonder of it all through their innocent eyes.

Being near horses always offers an opportunity for personal transformation just by proximity alone. That is part of the joy of horses, and part of the debt we owe those we employ for our entertainment. To see the grace of horses running is to glimpse the dance of the angels.

4 Responses to “College Day Pageantry at Keeneland”

  1. I met a friend of yours at the Horse Park while she was in a painting workshop. She told me about your blog. And I took video of her and her fellow students in class for my blog. 🙂

    I was at Keeneland for the last part of College Day. Looked like a good crowd, considering the dreary chill. But there’s nothing dreary about a day at Keeneland. 🙂 You made a nice video (how exciting that one of the girls won some money!) The Yo Yo Ma made me homesick and cry, so I’m not sure if I should thank you – or not. 😉 😉

    This is a nice blog. I’ll be back.

  2. Thanks Rhonda! I’ll bet you mean Ouisha – there’s a post here about her too. She’s getting famous through her friends’ blogs, eh? 🙂 What’s your blog? Love to see it!

  3. My blog is The Horsey Set Net. http://www.thehorseyset.net It’s been in something of an auto-pilot mode as I prepared for, made, been unpacking from and recuperating from The Trip. Nice to meetcha.

  4. It was “College Day” and this being the ‘northernmost southern city’ there were well groomed University of Kentucky students wandering everywhere. My pair fit right in

Leave a Reply

