The Back Stretch – and it IS a Stretch (right?)

My brushes with the world of thoroughbred racing have brought me as a groom into the shed rows at 5 in the morning at the Keeneland Yearling Sale, into the paddock at River Down’s with a pal saddling her fillies and out into a a meadow littered with newborn foals basking in the sun under their mama’s bellies on a warm spring day.  I’ve hobnobbed with the swells at a gigantic party during the Breeder’s Cup at Churchill Downs and clicker trained the son of a Kentucky Derby Winner in my very own paddocks. So when I tell you this video I’m embedding below captures a sense of the undercurrent I’ve experienced in the back stretch – you can know I speak with some insider knowledge. Now for the record, I posted this link on my Facebook page first and here are some uncensored comments (god bless ’em!).:

  • “How in the world did they decide he was gay???? He’s a frickin’ horse! Unbelievable!!!!”
  • “how stupid is this world becoming”
  • Stupid gay horse. : D
You Don't Have to be Able to Fly to be Light on Your Hooves - painting available on Etsy!

You Don't Have to be Able to Fly to be Light on Your Hooves - painting click to see on Etsy!

One Response to “The Back Stretch – and it IS a Stretch (right?)”

  1. I’m usually an effective analyzer although right here I am in all appreciation.

Leave a Reply

